GoKunming Forums

Local K-12 School that accepts foreign students?

gjbsjz (4 posts) • 0

My 9 year old daughter and I are currently living in Shijiazhuang.
I'm studying Mandarin and she's attending a local school where she is the only foreign student.
After only 3 months her Chinese is already very good. (After 9 months mine is still non-existent)
The pollution in SJZ is just too much so I'm looking to move to a city with cleaner air.
I intend to enroll in the university non-degree Chinese course but I need to find her a suitable school.
I don't want her to go to an international school as we are here to learn Chinese. She already speaks English, Tagalog and Thai so languages come easily to her.
Does anyone know of a local school that is able to enroll foreign students?
Many thanks in advance.

michael2015 (784 posts) • 0

All schools can enroll foreign students, if their Chinese language skills are sufficient for instruction.

Depending on your status, the schools may however request "tuition" fees of up to ¥25k per year per student (last time they tried this stunt on me).

If you're enrolling in a school - it's best you ask the school for assistance in enrolling your daughter in a nearby school, to either your residence or your school.

goldie122 (645 posts) • 0

All schools cannot enroll foreign students no matter what their language level is.

They are not allowed by the government.

Most foreigners dont have a choice but to enroll children in international schools.

There are some public schools that have been selected to accept foreigners, but unless you live in a large top tier city, it may be hard to find one of those.

And even then, they are limited and the tuition fee will be higher than that of a Chinese.

Dazzer (2813 posts) • 0

some schools that offer the basic eduaction are private. new regulations since 2014. basic ed is primaty middle and high school. maybe that is whey you were asked for 25k.

Dazzer (2813 posts) • 0