GoKunming Forums

Yunnan University- worth the hype??

Nansen (20 posts) • 0

Hi guys,

I'm currently a student learning Chinese at 理工大学 and due to visa reasons will have to shortly pay my fees for next term.

Although I've improved VASTLY, my university is up and down in my opinion, and I'm planning to write a review in due course. I only have enough time to study one more term, so want to better my Mandarin the best I can in that time.

I hear many students (and teachers!) telling me how great Yunnan University is, but is it up to the hype? Grateful if some people would post their opinions here.

How many classes a week, and how many optional classes (I'll also call up the school about this)
How big are classes?

Are native English speakers put into different classes, and if not, is English kept to a minimum, or preferably banned, in class?
What textbook is currently being used for 中级二?

Thanks guys, happy to answer q's about my uni in response...

Sarah1988 (22 posts) • 0

I dont think Yunnan university is worth the hype. I have been studying there for 1 year now.

The time table for all levels are nearly the same:
中级一 and classes are from Monday to Thursday 8.30am till 12pm, Friday 8.30am till 10.10am. Every day you have the comprehensive course, listening&speaking twice per week, reading and writing also twice per week.

高级一 and is the same time table except for Fridays. There's no comprehensive course but Chinese Cultural Classes (中国文化) instead.
You can choose the course by yourself. You get a little card and in the first week of every semester you can try every level. After that week you have to decide in which class you want to stay in and you hand over the little card to the head teacher of that class.
The seize of the class depends on the level but not more than 15 people.