GoKunming Forums

Searching for University Job Offers

ultm8 (5 posts) • 0

Hi Everyone,

Am looking to move to Yunnan. I currently work in Fuzhou university (Teaching spoken English) and am thinking for a change in environment.

Can anyone advise on teaching jobs at Universities in Yunnan.

Thanks

John

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • +2

My initial thoughts.
They usually recruit around April/May for the following October. If you are thinking about switching mid year, it may be that Fuzhou are unwilling to release you. I am assuming your contract is for the academic year.
If you fail to complete a contract with one university, others may be reluctant to take you. It is a small world.

ultm8 (5 posts) • 0

Hi TigerTiger,

Am planning to finish my contract (Academic year) as normal (I've completed every single contract here for the last 6 years, I'm a good teacher ;), just gathering information at the moment, as time fly's quick and I like options.

I won't need a placement until September/October time, but I don't know the universities in Yunnan area and am hoping some teachers in this forum can help in choices.

You're right it is a small world

michael2015 (784 posts) • +2

@ultm8
As you didn't specify Kunming, here's the list of universities in Yunnan:

en.wikipedia.org/[...]

If you want to live in the capital, Kunming - living expenses would naturally be significantly higher than the other prefectural level cities with universities. Yuxi is one of the fastest growing cities in China, so expect lots of construction (and dust), but "newer" stuff.

My personal recommendation would be to get your feet wet in Kunming at any of the larger universities, such as Yunnan University (the only state level uni), Kunming University of Science & Technology (which I think is actually larger than Yunda in student enrollment), Yunnan Minorities University, etc.