GoKunming Forums

Transferring money into China

vagabond48 (75 posts) • +1

There is a thread on transferring money out of China but wiring money into China is very limiting. We had thought of buying an apartment and the inbound wire limit for an individual is $50K. Even with the 2 of us, we are limited to $100K. I would think the government would encourage a reasonable amount of foreign investment money coming in.

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • +3

This is not a direct answer to your question and slightly off topic, sorry.

Here are my observations on buying a property in China, at the moment. I am no property expert, BTW.
With rental mutlipliers now as high as they are in China, property is not something I would invest in anymore.

When I say rental multiplier, I mean the number of months rent it would take to buy an apartment. If you ignore interest payments on a mortgage, and rental inflation, the multipliers are often over 800x. For my daughter in Shanghai it would be over 1000x, and she lives in a fairly modest development.

With a multiplier of 800, it would take 66 years of rent to cover your investment. I am not sure how much of the existing housing stock will still be standing in 60 years time.
Rents are going up gradually, but property values tend not to. Property prices (of new housing stock) may increase marginally, but values of existing property do not behave in the same way. There is a surplus of supply at the moment. However, market forces do not seem to be operating normally in the Chinese property market, there have been reports published about this anomaly.

If you get caught with a property with problems, and many people have been, you cannot easily sell up and move on. Some addresses do suffer from a reputational blight.