GoKunming Forums

Any jobs available?

shao1 (15 posts) • 0

I can't find a job in my home country (USA) and was wondering if it's easy to find one in Kunming. I am thinking about moving over. Basically all of the jobs in America have been outsourced to places like China and India.

I have a BS degree in Criminal Justice (I know I won't be able to work for the police, gov't, etc).

I do not have a desire to teach children English either.

Are there any other jobs I could possibly do in China?

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

Working illegally, will be on local wages. This would be unskilled work mostly and will pay about 100 bucks a month. This work, if you could find it, would also require you to speak Mandarin.

Because of your degree subject, teaching is perhaps your only option in the beginning. As you have a degree and now is the season of recruiting, you could look at teaching in a university. You will only be teaching English, but they usually pay your flight and provide accommodation in a small apartment.

If you do go this route apply now. Don't restrict your search to Kunming. Also look on eChinacities.com and asiaexpat.com. Both of which have countrywide job pages.

Then check out daves esl cafe (search online), as they have Asia wide job searches. The happiest bunch of teachers I have met seem to be in Thailand. The culture there is much more civilised even if most cities are less developed than the big Chinese cities.

As you apply also do a google search of that school, as there are some employer horror stories.

If you pick a Kunming employer you can always ask about them on this form. People will give you an honest opinion.

One more thing.

If you do consider teaching in China, do an online TEFL/TESOL certificate.

They are very cheap, not too intensive, and recognised by Chinese universities. This would help you get jobs in China.