GoKunming Forums

Yunnan University v Yunnan Normal

bethinkunming (6 posts) • 0

I am trying to decide between Yunnan University versus Yunnan Normal to study Mandarin this September. (I have been studying Mandarin for four years in high school and was in Kunming last summer.) Can someone tell me the positives and negatives of each - quality of teaching, class size, dormitories, general feeling of the campus, numbers of foreign students, location in Kunming?

Also - any advice on type of computer to bring, connecting to the internet, and cell phone?

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

Cannot comment on Unis.

Computer? Depends on what you will use it for. Internet speeds here are very slow. I am outside the city centre and the fastest service I can get is 2MB/s. Connecting to the internet is via modem, we buy a service from the phone company, there is no choice in our suburb.

Cell phone, you can 'buy' a SIM here, but you need to get local to help you as all mobiles require real name registration. You can get pay as you go or contracts. Some local contracts allow you to phone any other phone with the same phone company, in the same locale, free.

I generally buy cheap phones, they are less attractive to thieves. Smart phones are available here, but from what I can gather they don't work to full capacity/functionality because of local connection/services are poor.

Vincent86 (7 posts) • 0

I'm a student in YNU . In my view, YNU is the most famous university in Kunming. Maybe YNU have a great comprehensive strenth in Yunnan but I'm not sure it will be well at Mandarin teaching . I think YNU and YNNU is different kinds of campus, which one is the better totally depends on your own feeling . These two campus are very close, so the key is not the colleges but your coming to China to study Chinese .

If you still have some questions, be free to contact me by the following info. so that we can have a deep discussion.
Email: bohr86@gmail.com

no way (104 posts) • 0