GoKunming Forums

expat life in Yunan

adrivw (3 posts) • 0

Hi Everyone
I am a South African qualified teacher and have spent 10 years teaching abroad, including 2 years in Hong Kong. I am currently exploring positions in China and am really intrigued by Lijiang as a first option.
I am a single mom of two young girls, 7&8yrs old.

We love nature and prefer a quieter outdoor lifestyle. I really enjoyed my time in Hong Kong but my body [health] does not do well in humidity at all...so am looking at dryer climates:) My daughters and I love horses and it was such a highlight to discover that there are rides in Lijiang area.

I would greatly appreciate any info in regards to expat life in Lijiang with kids! Thank you kindly for

your time.

Haali (1178 posts) • +2

Lijiang is small city, not too many expats there I imagine, though it's beauty does attract a few I imagine. How's your Chinese? How are you planning to educate your daughters? (assuming they will be living with you)

OceanOcean (1193 posts) • +1

Are you qualified to teach English? You don't specify. I would think there's little chance of employment if you are, say, a Geography teacher. I presume you have a TEFL qualification or equivalent? You'd need that before coming and a Criminal Records check (of course currently no foreigners are allowed to enter China at all). Have you been in touch with any training schools or state schools there to see if there is a demand?

Liumingke1234 (3297 posts) • +2

Coming at this time is a bad idea especially with kids in tow. Although the virus is abating why risk it coming here.

tigertigerathome (172 posts) • +1

If you are thinking of home schooling for your children, it may be wise to sign up and enroll your children into a homeschooling program before you leave your own country.