GoKunming Forums

Kunming international clinic

Shoei (78 posts) • 0

i find it stupid to have a policy of making a appointment first to be able to see a doctor.

sorry its my first time but what ticks me off when i saw the patients list its one patient per doctor per hour?

i already ask the front desk person maybe she can accomodate me since i took a leave from work and im having a hard time breathing due to phlegm worst is if i cough im totally gasping for air.

only to get an answer im sorry nothing i can do pls come back again.

john-doe1983 (70 posts) • 0

That's the rules they have in place and I am sure they have them for a reason, did you try going to a different hospital?

AlexKMG (2387 posts) • 0

My guess is that since the clinic is more a charity rather than for profit hospital, its resources, mainly doctor consultation working hours, are limited, and thus require appointments. Many not for profit clinics in the USA are appointment only also.

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

I would not be surprised if this is a regulation that they must follow, as a non-native enterprise or at the behest of someone in authority.

JTeic (5 posts) • 0

I'm pretty sure they don't claim to offer emergency room or "urgent care" services (regulations and other gov restrictions prevent this), and from my own personal experience, generally they charge a fraction of what Chinese hospitals charge. Also, they usually have appointments next day and sometimes same day. Did you ask?

That said, if it's truly an emergency (sounds like you might have pneumonia or similar), then go to a local Chinese hospital or fly to HK. Here in Kunming, the Int'l Clinic seems to be trying their best within the restrictions placed on them. It probably doesn't help to complain about something they don't have any control over unless you're sending a note directly to the Kunming Mayor or Yunnan Governor and complain that foreign doctors are too restricted in China.

goldie122 (645 posts) • 0