GoKunming Forums

blind Er Hu busker with wife with no arms

blinky (3 posts) • 0

Hi

I'm new to Kunming. After I arrived I saw a blind er hu busker near the zoo. His wife (I guess) was sitting next to him. She had no arms.

I'd like to get in touch with him as I think he's a great player and want to ask him if he will teach me to play.

That was about 3 weeks ago and I haven't seen them since then.

For those of you who've lived here many years, could you tell me if they are Kunming residents? Have they been playing here for many years? As I haven't seen them recently, I'm wondering if they were perhaps just passing through Kunming.

Dazzer (2813 posts) • 0

No doubt your heart is in the right place, but I would be very careful. Very, very careful.
You do not know if they are part of a network, essentially owned by someone. As there are two beggars with disabilities working together, this is more likely. If he has moved on, he may not be a neighbourhood needy case.

laotou (1714 posts) • 0

@dazzer is trying to delicately say, you don't know if they're part of a CRIMINAL network. Beggar crime syndicates are extremely well known and deeply entrenched in Chinese culture and societies. If you're willing to expose yourself and or your loved ones to some potentially seriously evil people - can't be helped.

If you live near cuifu - there's plenty of music stores that can also teach you fundamental erhu skills, in addition to selling you the variety of erhus available. Not particularly charitable, but considerably less risk to the good-hearted, well intentioned, but naive and inexperienced.

If you still feel charitably motivated - bring an erhu instructor to teach you at one of Yunnan's orphanages or schools for the handicapped and indigent. Seed the "music" department of places struggling to provide food, clothing, and shelter. Maybe even get corporate sponsorship (from say a branded erhu manufacturer)...

blinky (3 posts) • 0

Hi guys, thanks for the feedback.