GoKunming Forums

tea market with Indian tea?

_shara_ (98 posts) • 0

Hello, does anyone know where I can buy good red tea / Indian tea / English tea as tea leaves? When I was in Australia I used to go to the tea shop there and buy Indian tea which was similar to English breakfast tea but better. I was hoping maybe they sell Indian tea in Kunming at a tea market somewhere, we are closer to India after all......

_shara_ (98 posts) • 0

p.s. by English tea, I probably mean tea that's grown in India or Sri Lanka anyway and exported to England :D

malavika (5 posts) • 0

Hi, I didn't find any tea shop or tea market where they sell Indian tea in Kunming. Being an Indian i love to have milk masala tea in the morning and all my teas i have been bringing from India to Kunming for the last 2 years.
I guess the Chinese people are just not used to drink that type of tea or don't prefer those type of tea leaves.

Geezer (1953 posts) • 0

Perhaps it didn't dawn on Chinese people, in an area where tea has been grown and exported for centuries, to import tea from faraway lands.

voltaire (225 posts) • 0

In Chinese western-style teas are known as 红茶 (hongcha) or "red tea", though in English the same category of teas are known as "black tea". Indeed, this type is grown right here in Yunnan and should not be any worse than the Sri Lankan or Nilgiri teas. In fact, those are almost certainly blended between multiple estates, whereas Chinese tea producers may not take that approach. Anyway check out en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_tea#Varieties for some ideas of what to ask for more specifically than 'hongcha'. Probably Xiefei can weigh in here, he knows a lot about tea and used to work in the industry.

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

I worked in a tea warehouse in London. I was surprised to learn that tea was imported from all over Africa, South America, and Asia. Then blended for nearly all of the big brand teas in the UK.