GoKunming Forums

Night watch

bluppfisk (398 posts) • 0

We have a night guard in our building complex. There are actually three. Two of them are very friendly and open the door for us, sometimes demanding a 3 kuai payment if we get back really late.

The third one just moans and bitches about everything, most notably about bringing people home, whether they are friends, girlfriends, boyfriends, couchsurfers or the odd one-night stand. He takes down their id card numbers, sometimes calls the police about it or demands 3 kuai per person.

Now I'm new to this city and I wonder: is he allowed to do any of this this? Is there a law that forbids bringing people home? After all, we rent the place, shouldn't we be able to do whatever we want with it? If he one day denies entry because we refuse to pay/send our friends away/let him take their details, what can we do?

Pierre (46 posts) • 0

This does not sound right.
First, you shouldn't be asked to pay 3rmb per entrance/per night. The guards get paid by the Building-Management (WuGuan). Then, as you still say they're friendly (even though you have to bribe them when you come late), I do not supposed you want to get them fired right away, which makes complaining at the management office quite a bit harder.

My advice would be to go to the management office and ask friendly if it is their policy to write down ID-card numbers of visitors and inform the police (which I don't think so) and then complain (maybe not complain but more or less inform them) about the one guard which has problems letting in people by night. Hopefully this will lead to an inspection of the guards policies and the bribing might stop.

Otherwise you could also ask your neighbors if they have to pay too, or, let it slip that you're really annoyed by paying 3rmb when you come home late. Hopefully they will have a chat with the guards and this might solve the situation.

Keep us updated.

laotou (1714 posts) • 0

@bluppfisk