GoKunming Forums

Incessant noise in Residential Areas

dashpierce (10 posts) • 0

I live close to Bei Shi Qu across from Soho Jun Yuan and nearby Bei Zhan Sui Dao. Anyway, about 6 months ago a large scale construction project began right outside our window. (It's going on in massive proportions all around this area) As it has progressed, there are now crane arms swinging 4 meters from our upstairs 6th floor bathroom window, generators running non-stop, hammers beating into steel beams, trucks hauling rocks throughout the night, etc, etc . I'm no newbie to China and have dealt with this on and off here and there for almost 8 years, whether it be jackhammers re-flooring a neighbor's apartment at 6 a.m. on a Saturday, outside construction, or just good old Chinese yelling and screaming.

We are lucky to have a bathroom to act as a semi-sound barrier in the room we sleep, so the noise is a bit more faint, but there is no where else in the two story apt. that is remotely tolerable to relax the vast majority of the time. I paid a visit to the 居民委员会 (residential commitee) to handle some office address transfer papers and enquired offhand about noise laws....supposedly, construction is supposed to stop at 1 a.m., but the the head banging and ruckus really starts pumpin' just about then over here.....and of course the real answer was actually 没办法. These are the folks that handle noise violations, residential disruptions, etc.