GoKunming Forums

How are Black-Aqmericans treated?

mightymouse (4 posts) • 0

I'll be moving to Kunming in August, and was wondering if it will be hard to find a job because I'm black. I'm currently a student and now I want to learn another language seeing that I already know German fluently. I have read online that there will be some places that won't hire me based on race,is this true? I plan to stay in Kunming for about 6 months to a year. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Liumingke1234 (3297 posts) • 0

Like the plaque. Ha..ha. Just kidding. Yes, there is discrimination especially against blacks. Thanks to all the movies depicting blacks as thugs and gangsters. You will definitely have a harder time getting a job but it's not impossible. You will be looked at more. My wife's friend (my wife is Chinese) daughter is seeing/dating a black guy (American) and her mother and entire family are freaking out! Just smile and be friendly and hope for the best. Welcome to Kunming!

crazy.laowai (242 posts) • 0

Unfortunately, black Americans in China are often looked down upon by the locals. It is terrible, but many Chinese English schools want a "white face" to show the parents. I do, however, know a couple of black Americans in Kunming who are quite successful teachers, because they are great people with great attitudes. They have managed to overcome the prejudice.

AlexKMG (2387 posts) • 0

If you can dj, rap, or play an instrument, there are some opportunities in the bar/club scene.

Calgrad (1 post) • 0

It depends..on a lot of things.... on how dark you are..your attitude...if you speak Chinese. I've been in China a long time and racism in China is not like it is in the States. I have friends who are lighter and have no problem. One was a model and starred in a Chinese movie.

Those that are darker, they have issues. But once people get to know them, it goes away.