GoKunming Forums

How much should I charge for teaching 1-on-1?

HankKerrick (7 posts) • 0

Hey all,

I've got 1 year of teaching experience teaching at one of the big universities here, a B.A., 5 years of Chinese language experience, and now I'm studying Chinese and have a student visa. I'm a young white American male.

I still have to earn money, though. I've seen plenty of opportunities for 1-on-1 instruction, but Chinese people give me much lower estimates of what I should be paid than Western folk here. What's the best way to earn the most amount of money in the least amount of time here without a full-time job? What's a good rate for my qualifications? What can I charge more for (test prep, distance traveled, hazard pay from riding my e-bike through these streets?)

Prefer teenagers and older.

Thanks!

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

With your level of experience, you should be asking for 100 rmb/hr, if they come to you, and if they are middle class.

If you are living in a working class district you should charge less but aim to have multiple students.

Test prep is usually the same fees as English class.
Don't aim to travel far, there is no extra money for it, unless you can negotiate extra for transport (then take your ebike and hide it round the corner). Hazard pay! What have you been smoking?

EnglishTeacher (101 posts) • 0

150 RMB for 1-on-1. This has been discussed before. Many schools and students still think it's 2005. Everything has gone up. I also recommend that you collect 4 weeks upfront. Good Luck!

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

A teacher with lots of experience can ask 150, especially if you have grey hair.

The op doesn't posses a lot of experience and is not an oldie. That is why I suggested 100 if they come to you. If they want you to go to them, charge more.

debaser (647 posts) • 0