GoKunming Forums

Biking in Wuhua

RichardPA (2 posts) • 0

Any tips on biking around the city, is it easy enough to bike around Wuhua?

Are there e-bikes that I could buy secondhand, and be legal without any extra permit?

I'll only be in KM for a few months.

opper (52 posts) • 0

I'm not an expert cyclist, especially compared with some of the regular forum frequenters, but I have to say it is quite easy biking around wuhua. The biggest obstacle is traffic which you will get used to after a week or so. Unless you need to move around very quickly with a kid on your back, a regular bike is suitable for most transportation needs. I bike to guandu and chenggong areas fairly often and it's never really a challenge.

lawlz0mg (201 posts) • 0

if youre here for a few months dont get an ebike, foreigners are targets for intentional accidents, if your chinese is bad youll lose the fight and pay 200 yuan for something you didnt do. get a solid bike, and enjoy the rides. the weather is great and small hills in the city. if you invest in a good bike you can resell it when you leave.

yankee00 (1632 posts) • 0

And by foreigners, you mean those of European descent. They are the only targets of blatantly faked accidents. Never happens to Chinese. They are also targeted for higher prices in shops or market. That never happens to waidi tourists. Oh and they are also the only ones called laowai.

redjon77 (510 posts) • 0

I wouldn't say never happens to chinese, it's one thing my chinese wife always mentions, people creating blatantly faked accidents!

Alien (3819 posts) • 0