GoKunming Forums

Musicians/Finding Gear in Kunming

jopasny (184 posts) • 0

I'll try to be brief here and spare you a LOT of other questions I have by just asking this one for now... but in short, I'm planning on moving to Kunming sometime in the new year, probably around early March. I'm living in Canada right now and tired of working an uninspiring office job, but my GF is from Kunming and suggested maybe we go live there where we could stay for free, save costs, travel/have new experiences and all that good stuff. I have plenty of other questions, but I'll save those for other posts.

Today I was wondering about the music scene in Kunming. I'm a classically trained guitarist and have played other styles in a lot of bands, and I want to keep playing once I move, but I'm just wondering how many other people there are out there to jam with and work with seriously? It doesn't have to be foreigners only or anything, I'll play with anyone, but I'm limited to speaking English pretty much (and French if I have to). Is it realistic to be able to start up some kind of band or project?

Also, are there a good number of used instruments around? I can't bring much with me, so I'm going to have to get some new gear once I get there. I imagine I'll want an acoustic, a classical and an electric guitar/amp. None of them have to be high end instruments, but just something for writing/practicing for the most part. Are things expensive in the local music stores? I usually prefer to buy used... anyway, I don't want to spend a fortune just to be able to play music.

Last thing - are there jobs or paying opportunities for musicians? I've seen some stuff about playing in bars, and it doesn't great. It's not necessary, but again, the point of moving to Kunming is to get away from the rat race here and do things I actually enjoy on a daily basis... and of course new experience/culture.