论坛

no party in kunming?

Zoey Chow (10 posts) • 0

I'm new here with my bf. I'm a freelancer so doesn't have many chance to meet same people and be friends with them, and always want to do that. I've checked Kunming's event, and almost all of them are ads/promotions, no real event for me. Anyone knows where else can I find some interesting events?

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

I have the same problem. From what I have seen, there are only a few ways to meet people and make friends.

This week, huzzar!, someone is organising tequila bowling. See classifieds for that one.

Other than that, unless you regularly haunt one of the bars, or haunt a church (no way), go to Toastmasters, or find work.
I avoid English corners as I get a lot of friends who want something. Unless the English corner has a lot of expats.

I too would like to find more ways to meet people. It would be nice to know if there are any 'clubs'/regular gatherings out there.

And again, the tequila bowling, great idea.

mPRin (821 posts) • 0

They usually have a pub quiz, it's not running at the moment because people have been away for the holidays, but it should start again soon. Keep an eye on the events section! :)

tallamerican (396 posts) • 0

I totally agree with tigertiger. Think Kunming is a little difficult to meet people and make friends if one is a little advanced in age. Bowling is great but not sure about tequila bowling. When i lived in Beihai it was smaller and every morning 10-20 foreigners would gather between 8-10 for breakfast, coffee or just conversation at the one and only McDonalds. Often times we would leave together to help each other with some of china's challenges one or maybe all of us were facing. I would for sure be interested in meeting more people.

lawlz0mg (201 posts) • 0

I've been here for quite a few years, i'd like to meet up with some long term foreigners. i'd prefer to avoid foreign bars, or cafe's. If you're up for a meal or coffee, shoot me a message.