User profile: redjon777

User info
  • Registered
  • VerifiedYes

Forum posts

Forums > Living in Kunming > Raising children

Lot of good information on upcoming things that I have no experience on guys, thx. Obviously I will want to play a major role in helping his early education like my mother did with me as a young child. I think that is one of the major impacts you can have as a parent!

As I thought just the early exposure would be enough for small talk but like some say once a child reaches a certain age teaching will become key to fluency.

@voltaire I will look into that book today, thx for recommending :)
Online hearsay is not always just that though, sometimes personal experience comes through.

Forums > Living in Kunming > Raising children

A small question (to any experienced) I have in my mind with my Chinese wife due to give birth in about 4 or so weeks is this....

With me (obviously) and my Chinese wife both speaking English at home but everyone else around us speaking Chinese (family, friends etc) will the child learn both languages easy enough or will it just be the home language that stands out? We see family most days for meals so plenty of Chinese language around.

Any kind of thoughts on this would be appreciated :)


No results found.


@geogramatt I've noticed they like to start as early as nursery (like my sons class) in some places now so that's got to be an improvement in thinking. I remember back in the day as a 5 year old starting swimming lessons in the UK. We never had our own school pool but would be taken to the local swimming pool on lesson days.

Maybe but the area is already known for it as the article says :

"Yuanmou County is already the celebrated home of the eponymously named Yuanmo Man — a distant ancestor of modern humans discovered in 1965. The prefecture also claims Yunnan's one and only Dinosaur Valley (恐龙谷)"



Been here several times lately and every time I've enjoyed my meal. Don't know why some others have said it was pricey, the price has always seemed fair to me :)