GoKunming Forums

Baker and pastry chef coming to kunming

Maxchina (26 posts) • 0

Hi every body and thanks you to welcome me here.

I am coming to kunming for work. I am a baker and pastry chef from Switzerland had working in France Australia thailand and china.

As every body know most of the cake shop in china provide the same quality of cake and bread.

I would like to know what kind of product do you miss the most? Any kind of bread sandwich cake and so on do you miss? Maybe French croissant? Or good quality of sandwich?

I never been to kunming but in many place in china. So I don't know if already have all that kind of product there ?

All information or desire are welcome!

I am going to try make also organic product with high quality and taste.

Thanks to anybody

blobbles (958 posts) • 0

Croissants! They are a poor imitation here...

Really good French bread is pretty hard to get here too. The French Cafe does it passably, but not wonderfully. If you are good, you could easily corner the bread market :)

I also miss dense (but not German dense) smaller bread. We have a brand called "Vogels" in New Zealand which is a smallish dense loaf. Though Germans probably miss their bread too as its hard (impossible?) to buy fresh here.

Note that I believe cooking at this altitude and in the dry air makes baking here a challenge (and the storing of bread before the customer buys too probably).

Maxchina (26 posts) • 0

Sometime is the most easy thing bring you the most pleasure ;)

Something like a sourdough loaf with taste of bread and not the taste of vegetable fat they use is most of the company for keep the bread longer in the shop.

Alien (3819 posts) • 0

Really good croissants would be a real addition.
Personally I think the multi-grain bread, unsliced, from the Wicker Basket is excellent, but I've never tried to make sandwiches with it - I just cut off big think pieces & put honey & peanut butter on it.

Magnifico (1981 posts) • 0