GoKunming Forums

European MEDICINE

obiwan (3 posts) • 0

Hello,
is it possible to find european MEDICINE in Kunming ?
do you know any place to buy it ?
thanks very much

yankee00 (1632 posts) • 0

The green medicine shops that are at every corner of the city and that say Health Store usually have Western medicine (bayer, gsk...)

Long-Dragon (390 posts) • 0

The medicine store on Nanping Square across from the new Era Hotel downtown usually has a good medicine selection and they had a PDR to look up meds.

Geezer (1953 posts) • 0

Most large pharmacies have an OTC section. As mentioned above, the large store on Nanping Jie has a pretty good selection.

Ask for the Yàopǐn zìdiǎn, 药品字典, to get the Chinese name/brand. You can look up by trade name or generic name. Not many will be imported but made in China under license.

At neighborhood pharmacies check the expiration dates for each and all meds you buy. Carefully check the composition of the meds. If you are experienced with your meds it isn't too hard to figure out the label.

Prices seem to be fixed. I tried shopping around but all pharmacies charged the same price.

Vitamins and supplements are extremely expensive. Some 100 mg Vitamin C tabs contain as little as 11 mg of C.

Geezer (1953 posts) • 0

@Alien: Not true! You provide a overall, general answer but I can assure you this is not the case.

I go downtown because I can't get what I am looking for nearby. I have also been offered out of date meds in Kunming and Beijing. More than once, when I refuse the out of date meds, I have been offered a discount.

I travel several times a year to Beijing to buy prescription meds not for sale in Kunming. Been doing this for many years.

Alien (3819 posts) • 0