GoKunming Forums

traveling suggestions in and around kunming

newlifewjj (3 posts) • 0

Hi, I am new to Kunming, I am planning to travel in or around kunming for the national holiday. But I don't like the crowds during the golden week.

Does any of you have any suggestions for some good routs? I would appreciate if you post some suggestions for me. I am a single female, I like traveling and adventure, but I prefer safe routs.

I would also like to find some traveling partners, it would be much more fun to travel with more people than just by myself.

You could leave me a note on this site or email me 729718196@qq.com

Thank you very much. Have a blessed week.

lemon lover (1006 posts) • 0

If you "don't like the crowds during the golden week" than I can I only advise you to stay at home.

Crowds are what golden weeks are all about.

Natsymir (101 posts) • 0

Any place remotely close to Kunming will be crowded in Golden Week, unless it's super-mega obscure. Dali, Lijiang, Jiangshui, Shibaoshan, Shaxi, Jizushan; forget about it.

Nujiang valley is your best bet; Bingzhongluo will still have available rooms if you arrive early/book ahead, as will the country guesthouses. Luckily, Nujiang valley is also one of the best destinations in all of Yunnan, and possibly the earth. The problem is; it's very remote, it'll take you almost two days to get to Bingzhongluo, even if you bus all the way to Fugong from Kunming.

HFCAMPO (3062 posts) • 0

The highway from Kunming to Dali is terrible during Golden Week. Expect multiple accidents on that road and the 4 hour trip can take up to 7-8 hours.

newlifewjj (3 posts) • 0

Dear all, thank you very much for replying to me. I am sorry that I don't know how to reply to you individually, a big thanks to you, all your information is very useful to me.

lemon lover (1006 posts) • 0

I second HFCAMPO's remark about the motorway between Kunming and Dali. It is shear madness.