GoKunming Forums

Private language schools in Kunming

aaavr (11 posts) • 0

I'm thinking of studying in Kunming starting in March 2013, and yeah I know this post is just asking for spam, but what have your experiences with private language schools been? Any you can reccomend, or any you reccomend to stay away from?
It seems that a lot of schools offer one semester courses, I think I'd be interested in doing something like that, attending 20ish hours a week of class. I'm hoping to focus a little more on speaking and listening, while still covering some hanzi. (I plan to practice reading and writing outside of class, don't need to take up too much class time on it)

By the time I arrive in Kunming I will have only studied chinese for 20 weeks at BLCU in Beijing, so I'd still say I'm a beginner. I'm looking for something that's pretty intense, I would plan to study for 3-4 hours each day after class.

I considered the universities but I think private schools are better... what do you guys think?

DiegoDave (16 posts) • 0

I can recommend TenWest in North Kunming, and I have several times on this forum. TenWest has been my school for over a year and the best thing about it: The owner/director, Albert, is an honest and helpful guy.

There are good teachers in several schools, but the teacher turnover at TenWest is low because they like their boss. I think one-on-one is the best way to spend your money because you'll advance much faster.

Whichever you choose, enjoy Kunming!

OceanOcean (1193 posts) • 0