GoKunming Forums

Studying Chinese in Kunming - Which University?

aaavr (11 posts) • 0

I'm currently studying Chinese at Beijing Language and Culture University, but I'm thinking of moving to Kunming next semester to continue studying.

It seems like there are a lot of university language programs to choose from, so I don't really know where to start. I know that I would prefer to study at a university, because then my university at home will be more likely to grant me credit towards my degree. That being said, there's no garuantee on my university doing that, so if anyone knows of a big advantage of any other program over the university ones, I'd like to hear it. Also, I do like the sound of some universities (Yunnan Normal being one I think?) offering the option of flexible one on one to one on five classes, as well as regular semester classes. (Like I guess if I wanted to I could take a one semester course, and a few extra one on one classes a week.)

My main problem with BLCU (other than the cost of living as well as tuition) is the teachers being really hit or miss, and some pretty major apathy amoungst my classmates, which really slows down the pace of the class. I find the class pretty big too - there's 20 people. So, that being said, can anyone offer advice?

If anyone has attended any of these courses in Kunming, I'd love to hear what you thought of them.
It would be great if you could answer some of these questions about where you went;
What are the teachers like?
What are the class sizes like?
What were your classmates like? Totally apathetic, or really eager to learn? Did you ever feel that your class was slowed down because of your classmates? Average age, and reason for most people being there? (I HATE the attitude of many of my classmates right now, so this, although it may seem silly, is kind of important to me.)
How much did it cost?
What was the atmosphere at the university like?