GoKunming Forums

Teaching In Kunming: K-12 vs. Language School

ainbro (11 posts) • 0

Hey Kunming,

I am expecting to be located in Kunming within the next 6 months. I have gotten a few job offers to teach English, but I am still trying to figure out what to do. One thing I noticed is that the local language schools seem to post higher wages ~ 8,000-10,000 RMB / month vs the offers I've gotten from high schools and universities ~ 6,000-7,000 RMB /month. The other perks do seem to vary as well with the high schools and universities more consistently offering health insurance.

To others currently in Kunming have a similar experience with the different English teaching opportunities? just for reference, I have a B.S. and M.S. degree, 5+ years work experience, though I am not a professional teacher. I do have a TESOL certificate and I have teaching experience as a freelancer.

Thanks!

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

Public Vs private sector advantages and disadvantages as I see them, I am sure others will chip in.
Firstly, there is a spectrum (not continuum) of providers in both sectors.
I will break this down into separate posts otherwise it will be too long.

Universities.
Students have all passed GaoKao (GK) the college entrance test. They are usually more motivated, but cheating is endemic and you have to learn to live with it.
University Deans expect students to do well in exams. They don't want to know about cheating. If the exam is too hard it needs to be moderated. This goes against the grain, but it is their house and their rules (This is China). Occasionally you will get students who never attend class, and these you can fail. The institution really cares about the students.