GoKunming Forums

Info about living in Dali?

EveAnnemarie (9 posts) • 0

Hi there!

I'm coming to Dali in February and can find very little information online in terms of employment or housing. I have a Masters in Counseling and would love to work with a non-profit/NGO, but I figured I could teach English as a backup plan...I can't find a single job online!

Also, I know there are a lot of hostels/guest houses, but we're looking for something long term, ideally a house or 2-3 bedroom apartment. I know we can probably figure things out when we get there, but anything we can nail down ahead of time would be helpful. If you have any leads, or know someone else who might, I could use some contacts who know the area. Thank you!

HFCAMPO (3062 posts) • 0

There are many houses for rent just south of the south gate of Dali Old town that are relative inexpensive. A friend of mine rented a 2 bedroom for 1500 RMb just 2 months ago.

Work ($) for an NGO or volunteer (Free) ?

That sounds very reasonable. If you could send me a message with contact information for your friend, I would really appreciate it.

A paid position would be nice, but I know it would be unlikely. In a perfect world, I'd rather volunteer doing something I care about than make money doing something I don't, but either my husband or I will have to get some paying work or we won't be staying in Dali very long:) I figured I'd probably end up teaching English and finding somewhere to volunteer on the side, but I'm not even finding any teaching jobs.

HFCAMPO (3062 posts) • 0

Dali is relatively small and there are many foreigners there already so it will take time to find work. You also need to learn more about Xia Guan which is separate from Dali Old Town. This is where the airport, bus stations and train station are located.

www.hugoyunnantravel.com/des_dali.asp

Anonymous Coward (329 posts) • 0