GoKunming Forums

Anthropology/Sociology Fieldwork in Yunnan

PrimD (2 posts) • 0

Hi all,

I'm an exchange student here in Kunming and received some funding to conduct an anthropological fieldwork here in Yunnan - but am finding that I am bumping into a lot of dead ends. Does anyone have any experience with conducting research here + have some suggestions on how to go about making connections, getting permission to conduct studies, going about interviews, etc.? This is my first time conducting independent fieldwork and I would really appreciate any sort of help I can get! Thanks so much in advance :)

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

Some suggestions.

Because sociology touched politics you will need a gatekeeper, just to get started.
Leaning towards anthropology, and dressing your study as such, may meet less resistance. And make it clear that you will avoid politics.

As an exchange student I assume you are connected to a Chinese university. If so use your prof. as gatekeeper and bow to their superior knowledge and connections. They may suggest topics that you are not that interested in, but at least they will not be dead ends.

The dead ends you have hit may well be closed doors, but no one will ever tell you this. This is usually politics. When discussing work listen for words like 'difficult' and 'impossible'. 'Difficult' means there is a reason why you cannot do this, but the other person is not at liberty to discuss the reasons with you. 'Impossible' means that they do not have the resources or knowledge to do it, but in theory there is no reason why you cannot.

There is a Naxi museum and cultural centre just outside Lijiang. They are trying to keep the culture alive in the face of the move from agriculture to tourism. Working with such minority groups and focussing on the anthropological may be workable. Just avoid politics.

There are other ethnic groups in Yunnan you could look at. It might be better to avoid those with a beef against the govt.