GoKunming Forums

Racism in Kundu

IvanArgo (1 post) • 0

I had an off-putting experience in Kundu on Thursday, and I'm wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience. I went to a club (I honestly forget the name) with a few Chinese friends, and as I entered, the bouncer pulled me aside and simply said that this club was for Chinese people only. My Chinese friends basically gave him attitude and he backed off, but when I walked around inside, all the staff were staring at me.

I go to Kundu from time to time, and I've become a fan of Soho and a few other places, and this is the first time I've seen anything like this. I'm fairly new to Kunming - is this a common occurrence? Is it legal in China to openly restrict foreigners from entering a club?

Bad Boy (24 posts) • 0

It started a few weeks ago and there is nothing to be done about it. Also after watching BABI bouncers punch my friend for zero reason after they stole his bag its almost better to not give them our money....

YuantongsiYuantongsi (717 posts) • 0

I heard that about a week ago some Aussie travellers had a problem with the DJ in BABI and after that Laowai were not allowed in,,but if you have local friends with you it seems this is not an issue.

tiger1986 (43 posts) • 0

bucko thanks again for ur extremely useful contribution, you are probably an extremely frustrated geek to take time to write such poor reply on this discussion.

The truth is Soho is commonly forbidden to foreigner, and what happened in Babi last week was, one of these Australian tourists literally pee on the DJ mix tables...
So that is why they start to be cautious with foreigner. However I agree than ban any foreigner could look like racism, but it is much more because we suffer of very bad image especially when this kind of event occur.
BTW Chinese customers are more respectful and also spend more money, so...

Chingis (242 posts) • 0