GoKunming Forums

Rock Climbing in Kunming

thatguyted (34 posts) • 0

When and where? I've never done it before, so I'm looking for a place that's suitable for a beginner (necessary equipment supplied, more experienced climbers around for advice, etc.)

Thanks!

Bumble (5 posts) • 0

I want to rock climb!! I've never been, would love to know a suitable beginner's place also.

seven.sides (10 posts) • 0

As far as I know there are two rock climbing walls in Kunming, although I've only been to one. It is a small bouldering wall within a bar. There are lots of experienced Chinese climbers there, who go out to the mountains to climb at weekends. Apparently there are bolted sport routes out there. Not sure if you can get any official training in the wall or not. There are some plimsole type shoes you can use at the wall which are sufficient for a beginner indoors, but if you go out you need to buy some proper rock shoes. there are shops in town that sell them.

If you are looking to learn to climb it should be a good starting point (you should be physically fit though, as it's an overhanging wall), and you will quickly get to know the regulars who are very friendly and help you out with learning technique.

The address is: 学府路25. Xuefu Lu. before the big intersection.

If you google "rock climbing kunming" you should find the webpage for the other wall.

thatguyted (34 posts) • 0

Thanks, seven sides, that sounds like what I'm looking for. I also took a look around gokunming and dug up this info:

Redpoint Climbing
红点攀岩
No1, Building 49, Dongjia Wan, Sujia Cun
董家湾苏家村491
Tel: 3372350
www.climbingkunming.com
Getting there: Take No 5 bus to Dongjia Wan (董家湾), the facility is on the West side of Huancheng Dong Lu (东环城路)

I also found that this site created a "rock climbing guide" for KMG, but when I clicked the link, the page had been moved. Anyone from gokunming know how to find that page?