GoKunming Forums

Kunminghua

TheSwedishGuy (64 posts) • 0

I am writing a thesis on Kunminghua and something just struck me today when I was studying Yunnans history. Muslims have had a big impact on Yunnan in ancient times and I am wondering, correct me if I'm wrong, if arabic has had an impact on the Yunnanese as a whole? Since I studied some arabic before, there are some similarities between the pronounciation in arabic and kunminghua which could explain the strange sounds in Kunminghua if compared with putonghua.

What do you guys think?

chris (144 posts) • 0

Interesting theory, do you have any examples?

I'm somewhat skeptical, but I've heard people theorize that the 'ga' used at the end of statements is related to the polite particles 'krap' and 'khaa' in Thai... have you found anything to corroborate this?

aliebman (8 posts) • 0

hi swedish guy,
interesting,
but there are almost always some similarities in the sound systems of two languages, even if they descend from completely different language families.
was there ever an extended period of time when Arabic-speaking Muslims and Manadrin(language family)-speaking Yunnanese were in close contact?
or is your theory that the influence was less direct?

i'm very interested in linguistic issues and preparing to do a PhD in linguistic anthropology. i would be very interested to meet with you sometime.
adam.

adam_ology@hotmail.com

Nanzhao (18 posts) • 0

Interesting thread.

The earliest Muslim residents (as opposed to earlier Muslim traders) arrived in Yunnan during the Yuan dynasty and were largely from Central Asia. A prime example of this, is Sayyid'Ajall Shams Al-Din (Ch: Sai Dianchi) who served as governor (his descendants continued to serve in the province for several generations -- and many Muslims today trace their lineage back to him).