GoKunming Forums

American Soldier Burials near Walnut Forest

UWMadisonStudentEm (3 posts) • 0

Hi all. I am a graduate researcher looking into some MIA American Soldiers who went down in March 1945 near a small village called the Walnut Forest. I have coordinates for a possible burial site. I am hoping to find someone who speaks English in that area that may be able to help me do some investigating.

lemon lover (1006 posts) • 0

In Yunnan there are many places with the same name. There for you need the district or nearest town name as well.
Can you provide the coordinates?

Sure. These are the coordinates 25°26’30” N 98°42’30 E. At these coordinates is where the crash would have taken place, and the burial would have happened very close to that.

I was also trying to contact the Kunming Flying Tigers Museum, but the email they have listed on their website seems to be incorrect if anyone has any idea on how I might get in touch them as well.

JanJal (1243 posts) • 0

Have you confirmed the Chinese spelling for the village name?

In mountainous parts of Yunnan, walnut is a main cash crop and the label on the map may reflect that resource, rather than the actual village name.

DanTheMan (620 posts) • 0

There is a 村庄 (Cunzhuang, "hamlet") nearby your coordinates called 核桃林/Hetaolin. I am not sure if Cunzhuang is an official administrative division in China or not. In any case, it appears to be a part of Jietou Village, Tengchong County, Baoshan Prefecture 保山市腾冲市界头乡. Unfortunately, it's in a relatively remote part of Yunnan and there are additional travel restrictions in place these days in many areas near the Myanmar border (the coordinates you gave are about 30km from the border; I don't know if it's accessible by foreigners or not currently.)

lemon lover (1006 posts) • 0

OK those coordinates take us to a place north east of Tengchong near Jeitou (A small market town serving the surrounding area on the dead end road ((S238)) going north of Tengchong).