GoKunming Forums

To Teach in Kunming or Not To Teach

Upstate NY (10 posts) • 0

Hello,

I'm an experienced teacher with Masters Degrees in TESOL and Education (and a TEFL certificate). I enjoy teaching abroad, lived in Japan and Chile where I taught for 3 years each, and am looking to do some more of it before I get too old (i'm 53) now that my kid is grown. Making a bit more money to pad out my retirement funds would be a nice bonus.

Not to sound arrogant but based on my research, finding good teaching work with my credentials should be easy anywhere in China as long as I recognize there may be pandemic issues including hotel quarantine.

Can you people recommend some schools and strategies for finding work in the area? Beanstalk seems to be a place hiring foreign teachers? I'd prefer high school and/or uni but I'm flexible. I hear high school pays better in China. I'm looking at Kunming because of the air quality and moderate temperatures (not a fan of excessive heat, humidity, freezing temperatures and giant clouds of impenetrable smog). I'm working under the assumption going through recruiters has some drawbacks and contacting schools directly would be preferable.

Any and all advice or comments would be very appreciated. Xiexie

bubblyian (102 posts) • 0

You should be aware that China is closed to non-Chinese (since 28 March), and that this ban may last a long time!

I'm pretty flexible about when I could come. I think August would be the earliest.

Yeah, the virus throws a giant wrench into the works. It probably doesn't help that I'm living in the state that's becoming notorious for the highest number of positive cases. So I'll need to see how this all plays out. Meanwhile I'm hiding out at home.