GoKunming Forums

research in China

kaddibuddy (45 posts) • 0

Hey everyone,

i am a doctoral student from Germany and during my PhD I want to go to China doing fieldwork at chinese schools. I want to go to Pu'er for one year. As I already tried EVERYTHING to get in contact with universities and institutions I want to ask if anyone has any advices for me? I sent more than 40 e-mails (in chinese). I sent emails to every University in Yunnan, also to Beijing. I contacted Bureaus and Institutions but so far no one ever answered me. I already talkes to the Pu'er University but for this year they have a strict examination system, so I can´t apply as a scholar. As it is obviousely easy to just go to China and ask the people and Bureaus if I can do my research, I still have the problem with the visa. Because I want to go for one year, best would be a scholarship at a University or a directly invitation of the local government (impossible I guess). So does anyone know who I could contact, has maybe contacts or whatever? I want to start this year in October and it´s driving me crazy that for now I really don´t know what else I could do.

Thanks for helping!

dolphin (509 posts) • -1

I tried contacting the ministry of education by email once and never got a response. Thats why I find it amusing. Good luck!

Geezer (1953 posts) • 0

You might try to not mention you plan to do research. Seems to me you would need permissions which could be a problem for your visa sponsors. You realize that any conclusions of your research must be only good news or praise. TIC

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

The only other possible avenue I could think of would be to contact a university in your home country that already has strong links or joint programs with a Chinese university, or a campus here in China.
Having said that, even if it could be done, unless you can hook into an existing research program the timeline is probably too short.