GoKunming Forums

Yunnan non-degree and scholarship

lilynguyen3617lilynguyen3617 (7 posts) • 0

Hi everybody
I have questions about non-degree in Yunnan University. Hope everyone will hope me!
I am currently a high school student and want to study in China at Yunnan University. Currently I do not know Chinese and would like to apply for one year Chinese Language program in Yunnan uni and then I want to transfer to bachelor degree and I also want to get the Yunnan government scholarship later. Is this possible?
And by the way, How much is the full year's non-degree tuition fee? And what's about food in uni canteen, is it expensive and how much should i pay for a month?

alienew (422 posts) • +1

In the canteens you can eat cheap. The food is okay, sometimes pretty good with a lot of selection. You can get by for about Y40 a day for food in canteens if you want to.

Thanks for giving me more informations alienew!

Can you tell me the quality of teaching at Yunnan University?
Do many foreign students come there?
Are dormitories affordable and how much do I pay for a year?
How's about facilities in Yunnan University?

alienew (422 posts) • +1

Well, I think the canteen facilities are better than most university canteens, though others aren't necessarily bad.

michael2015 (784 posts) • +2

@lily...
1. Depending on where you're located, there are Confucius Institutes where Chinese Language is usually free. Also - depending on your age - you can get scholarships to study in China through the Confucius Institute and other organizations. You can "try" to contact the Chinese Embassy or Consulate in your home country for information or just search for them online.

2. Yunnan University's website: