GoKunming Forums

I want to study Chinese Language in Kunming

nzguy (4 posts) • 0

Hey everyone,

This is my first post here, even though I've been browsing the website for several months now.

I'm a New Zealand citizen.

I want to come to Kunming in October to study Chinese. I'm trying to find the most affordable option that still classifieds as full time study... Unless you know if a student visa is possible without full time hours.

I need a course that starts any time, because I'm coming in October.

I also want to know if it's compulsory to have health insurance while studying?

Of course it's sensible, but I want to know if it's required before being accepted into a school.

I would like to stay in Kunming for 6 months initially, so I would look at a 5 or 6 month visa.... Or a 12 month visa with multiple entries if that's possible... Because I'll do 2 lots of study initially if that's a possibility.

I've found a few schools online, but both don't fit my requirements.

Any and all advice / info is appreciated.

Thanks!

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • +1

I think that most university programs start in October. If you start late, the first few weeks of a beginner course are easy to catch up on. The university programs also work out cheapest. Usually 4 hour blocks each morning (M-F), afternoon off, 20 hours per week (full time), and a lot of time to yourself.
Medical cover is not a legal requirement. I am not sure if the universities offer basic emergency cover for their students.
The university programs are usually by semester, and that I think is 6 month visa.
Warning, you must attend regularly at any school, public or private, otherwise your visa is at risk. There was a purge a few years back and lots of students had visas cancelled and could not continue study, one student because he had taken two long weekends travelling.

nzguy (4 posts) • 0

Great, can you recommend any affordable universities that offer 6 month Chinese language courses?