GoKunming Forums

staying in Kunming for the first time

Virtue_94 (13 posts) • 0

Hi all,

I'm a student from Belgium and for my thesis I will go to Kunming for one month (26aug-26sept), where I will explore the whole city. Since I am vegan and I frequently have to go to the toilet, I have a couple of questions :)

- how are the toilets in Kunming and is it possible to go to the toilet? Are there specific things I have to be aware of?

-Is it possible to pay in supermarkets with a banccard?

- Are there vegan options like tempeh, vegan yoghurt, tofu etc? and are there also things I have to know as a vegan?

- Is there a good transportation in Kunming (bus, bike, metro,taxi,...) and which option is the best to take?

-How should I communicate? Can many people speak English or should I install a translator so I can show it in Chinese?

Thanks in advance for the answers! I have to admit that I'm a bit scared since I'm going alone and I also never have been to China!

OceanOcean (1193 posts) • +3

Hi Virtue. Welcome to Kunming.
Here are a few answers:

Toilets: there are public toilets but they're often pretty awful. Sometimes you pay a small fee to use them. You're better off using yours at home, or looking for a hotel lobby or MacDonalds etc and using theirs.

Transport: Kunming has all the transport modes you mention. Buses are regular and cheap, but often crowded. Bikes and e-bikes are popular but can be dangerous. Taxis are reasonably priced and I've always found the drivers to be honest (others less so). They can be hard to find at certain times of the day. The subway is cheap and fast but limited to one major North-South line at present. Walking is also possible - the centre of Kunming is really quite compact.