GoKunming Forums

WuLing Mini Vans?

Stratocaster (161 posts) • 0

I'm considering buying a new WuLing mini van. Does anyone have experience with these? Please be specific in your praise or criticism of these cars. Thanks!

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • 0

I have no experience, other than riding in them.

They seem adequate for the job, although I would not want to crash in one.

However, WuLing are ubiquitous. The fact that they are so popular suggests that they are probably reliable and easy to live with. Because they are everywhere, you would never have to search too far to find someone to work on one, should you be so unlucky as to need a mechanic. The latter is a major plus if you want to travel. I would also imagine that service and repair fees are much lower than those of big brand service centers.

Just an aside. If you are going to modify it by pulling seats out, make sure you keep them. They must be put back for the annual vehicle inspections. If you want fewer seats permanently, have the vehicle supplied and registered without the seats.

Stratocaster (161 posts) • 0

@tigertiger Yes, you outlined the same reasons why I am considering a Wuling. I plan to use it just to drive (slowly and defensively!) around Lijiang. Hopefully, no accidents! For what it's worth, I'll be adding extra bumpers on the front and back. Thanks for the tip about fewer seats being registered! I only need 5, not 7.

GoK Moderator (5096 posts) • +1

If you add extra bumpers, they also need to be detachable for annual inspection, or be fitted permanently before registration.
Seriously, they made me take the roof bars off of my car before they would inspect it.

lemon lover (1006 posts) • +1