GoKunming Forums

TenWest Language School Opinions?

Wanna Be Bendi Ren (14 posts) • 0

Hi there,

I am strongly considering going to Ten West and wondered if anyone could give me their objective opinions about it's teaching methods etc...

I am an Elementary student wanting 1 to 1 tuition, 8-10 hours a week.

Many thanks!

Backpack (11 posts) • 0

I've attended TenWest for about 7 months, and I can't recommend it highly enough. The owner of the school did undergraduate and graduate work in the U.S. He has a very thick Chinese accent, but he's actually spoken English for 20 years. He has tried very hard to accommodate Westerners and their learning styles. I asked to be taught using the GPA method which is shown to be highly effective, and my teacher knew exactly what that was.

I will say, as you may have already noticed, that TenWest is more expensive that the university programs that teach Chinese; however, you get what you pay for. After seven months of study (with almost zero study outside of class), I feel comfortable traveling China by myself. For someone who has never learned a second language, I was impressed at how effective TenWest has been at boosting my language ability.

TenWest also just started what they call 说吧 which is basically Chinese language practice every Wednesday evening from 7:15-9PM. Coffee and snacks are provided. 10RMB per person (and you don't have to be a student to attend). This Wednesday, they are teaching us how to play mahjong (with as much of it in Chinese as possible).

They can also provide student visas for full time students if that's important to you.

As you can tell, I'm a huge fan of the school!

zhudan (204 posts) • 0