GoKunming Forums

Scuba divers in Kunming

jooyoung (3 posts) • 0

Hello! I want to share information about scuba diving here.

Now I started studying Chinese from this semester but I've been worked as scuba diving instructor for a few years in Malaysia and Thailand.

I was missing diving as the weather getting warmer and it's been a few weeks already I've been away from the sea. And then one of my friend told me people dive here at lake in Kunming(not green lake) from April. Also many people are trying and learning scuba diving as well.

So if you're interested in diving here, we can try together! I'm really curious about the fresh water diving and conditions!! Also, I can share anything about diving-where is the good place to dive, how's the course going etc..

So anything you want to know about diving or share the information, text me!

wechat ID: diverjooyoung

lemon lover (1006 posts) • 0

Hi jooyoung.
Realise that the local lakes here are at 2000 metres above sea level. That makes it quite dangerous to dive here and is nothing comparable with diving at sea level. Just want to be sure you realise that and that you need specific training for high altitude diving.

The local lake at Kunming (Dianchi) is zero visibility diving and not much fun. Fuxian lake is better and has some old ruins underwater but is very cold.
Have fun.

jooyoung (3 posts) • 0

it's good to know you dived there already, but altitude diving is not 'dangerous' if you properly prepared and trained.

And I can imagine itll be not exiting or good condition as diving in Thailand or Malaysia sea, but it's new adventure for me.

I'll try and lets see!

vicar (817 posts) • 0

There you go again lemon. What is it this time? The lakes will suddenly dry up and you will fall and break your neck on the floor? There are much more extreme sports than scuba at high altitude. Jumping out of planes is dangerous but people still do it. It's known as 'enjoying your life'

Krismoonpie (80 posts) • 0