论坛

thumbs up & down

Alien (3819 posts) • -1

Seems to me the thumbs-down function is useful for application to posts that have nothing to do with the topic, for those that are only insulting weak-ego hissy-fits between posters, and/or things like outright racism etc. Better than anything similar to censorship.
Thumbs up for agreement with post.

Liumingke1234 (3297 posts) • -2

I agree but I won't give you a thumbs up or down. This function is useless. Where's the spam button. I've been asking for since 3 years ago.

Alien (3819 posts) • -2

@ liumingke: If you agree, why do you say it is useless?
Seems to me spam should be dealt with by gokunming - such a button could well lead to legit posters disappearing posts that they didn't happen to like.

Napoleon (1187 posts) • +4

Sorry, thumbed down when I wanted to thumb up. Apologies. I'm on the phone and my thumb was too fat.

I think its a good idea but some sensitive souls obviously consider it a personal affront to their empty insights.

And as you mentioned it can save me from reading through drivel, unrelated posts and posts that are offensive, and can be used to hide spam.

nnoble (889 posts) • +5

The days of threads attracting 20 and more pages, most pages past number 4 containing self-indulgent one-on-one arguments, are largely history.

If thumbs can be proven to have contributed to this improvement, then anyone advocating their demise should offer an alternative that will achieve a similar result. On one occasion, as far as I've noticed, thumbs have 'censored' one alternative but unattractive point of view. That's unfortunate.

Alien (3819 posts) • 0